Green Green Grass

Recently, I had a wheatgrass shot. Not really knowing what to expect but only that it was not going to be extremely palatable. The benefits though were going to outweigh any lingering aftertaste.

“Would you like some mandarin as a chaser”

re-inforced that this was not going to be pleasant. I was mildly surprised that it was not as bad as I thought.

Have you tried spirulina? That, I can say is seriously gag worthy. Mix it with just water and the fishy, algae smell and taste will have you blocking your nose and gulping it down.

I always tell myself just think how good it is for you. If healthy tasted good everyone would have jumped on the bandwagon.

How to Use Wheatgrass

Drinking Wheatgrass Juice: You won’t “overdose” on wheatgrass juice, but drinking too much may upset your stomach.
Drink wheatgrass daily:
1-2 ounces a day – Trying to be healthier & have more energy.
4-6 ounces a day – Trying to overcome a degenerative disease.
Always start with just 1 ounce/day and increase slowly.
Drink wheatgrass on an empty stomach.
Its best not to combine wheatgrass with other food or drink.
If you absolutely need a chaser, try water or a sip of apple juice.
Spread your ounces out over the day (ex. 1 hour before meals)
Swish the juice in your mouth before swallowing, allowing the juice to
nourish the gums and mix with saliva, beginning the natural digestive process.

If only I was aware of the last point. I think I thought I was having a tequila shot!

As a vegan I am always looking for ways to boost my diet with additional minerals and vitamins that I may be lacking. Health is – trial and error!

 

Leave a comment